Welcome

Hello there!

We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect.
Anais Nin

Well, hello world. How have you been?

It has been awhile since I wrote publicly. And me oh my, so many things since then. Snapchat became mainstream, Tinder became the dating norm, there is the rise of ride-sharing apps like Uber, GrabTaxi, Swift, Lyft; which became major competition to your everyday off the street cabs. Trump became president (you know I just can’t resist) and not forgetting the increase of keyboard warriors and trolls, and people who wholeheartedly believe everything they read off Facebook and Twitter, amidst many other new norms. Suddenly, everyone is a feminist, or an advocate of peace, or become “knowledgeable” about all the religions and politics in the world. But sadly, many remain uneducated and misguided.

But, I’m not here to talk about that.

To be extremely honest, I don’t have a clue where the direction of this blog will go.
I have not written as a ghost before, but I am no stranger to blogging though. For as long as I have ever known, I have always been writing. I love stories, telling them, reading them, writing about them. My mother instilled in me a habit of reading, and since young I have always enjoyed reading. The thrill of reading a new book, to find out what is the ending, to be so lost and immerse in the story until you feel that you are part of the story, living it out. To feel what the characters are feeling, that is the magic of storytellers. The ability to transfer emotions from letters on a page to you. Then there is the smell of books. New books smell so fresh, you would be so scared to cause a crease in the bind, or crease in the pages. Old books, with the dirty, yellow pages, have a distinctive musty smell (throw in a bit of mould), but feels so frail in your hands that you know you just got to take extra care with it.

Before, when I used to blog frequently, I was constantly writing about my feelings or about relationships, writing all this under my own name. Why hide behind a screen name now though, you ask? Well, over the years, I begin to cherish my privacy and anonymity a lot. I don’t want to leave behind too many online footprints. It is so easy to be tracked these days, too many people lurking around. Furthermore, sometimes, under the cover of anonymity, you are more honest about the things that you want to write about.

For now, I’m just here to tell stories about my experiences the best way I can, the best way I know how. Though I am no stranger to writing, I am not good at it. I don’t really have a way with words, not good with imagery. I just want to have a reminder of the things I have encountered and keep all these as a form of remembrance.

Till next time.

Leave a Reply

