Tying the Knot

So, the boy and myself have decided to take the next step in our relationship.
And no, there wasn’t any proposal. We just decided to apply for a house together, and that was that. I mean, we knew we were heading to get married, and I knew I didn’t want to be staying at his parent’s place and I don’t want him to be staying at my parent’s place, so the course of action is to have a house first before we get married. Since, we’re gonna end up together anyway, why prolong it right? We date to be married, not date to play, correct? Straightforward.

Anyway, we applied for Sale of Balance Flats, and managed to secure an appointment. As the flat that we are eyeing is ready in 2017 and estimated delivery is by mid 2018, we made an educated guess and gamble that we need to tie the knot by mid 2018 in order for us to secure the place. Since now it is close to mid 2017, we have about a year to save up and plan for our wedding.

I have always known a wedding is not easy to plan but I didn’t know how much work it is going to be!

I recently only started browsing and looking at wedding caterers, decoration providers and bridal services. I read blogs upon blogs upon blogs, browsed through forums and oh my god, information overload! I sought advice from my friends who were married, those who are going to be married and I am still clueless. My boy seems to take it in his stride, but I am guessing, he is just waiting for me to tell him what to do, and he will make his decisions from there.

First I have to come up with a budget plan, and a checklist.
Simultaneously, I need to research slightly more, and start enquiring on prices.
I would need to figure out whether I want to take up a package, or find different vendors for each different segment of the wedding. For that, I would need to know prices, but based on my initial research, I am leaning towards finding different vendors for each different segment of the wedding. Seems to be a cheaper alternative, if I can get the vendors I want.

Let’s see how this goes.

Leave a Reply

